top of page
  • Karly Ramnani

P&P Spotlight: Izzy Potter

The current renaissance of indie folk is introducing the timeless genre to a brand new generation. Among its fresh faces is the insightful Izzy Potter, a student navigating Nashville's thriving music scene as an independent artist. A dynamic performer and songwriter, Izzy isn't afraid to wear her heart on her sleeve. That's especially evident in her latest single, "can't end what never was," which tackles a complicated, not-quite-official relationship. Since it captures such an intense emotional experience in a relatable manner, the listener is reminded that they are, in fact, not being overdramatic with their own situationship.


Besides the release of "can't end what never was," the NSAI-recognized artist made significant strides in 2023. From opening gigs at NYC's iconic Bowery Ballroom, to headlining the End and the East Room for the first time, Izzy was able to cross off some major bucket list items. Playlists & Polaroids got the opportunity to chat with Izzy about her artistic journey thus far, and we loved hearing her perspective. Keep reading for her thoughts on "can't end what never was," working in Nashville, goals for next year, and more!


Image credit: Izzy Potter, graphic created by Karly Ramnani


YOU'LL LOVE IZZY POTTER IF YOU LISTEN TO: Taylor Swift, Noah Kahan, Hozier, Quinnie, Slow Pulp, Clairo, Gracie Abrams


How has the environment of Nashville fostered your creativity and shaped your approach to songwriting?

I definitely feel that Nashville has influenced my sound and the way I write music. I am surrounded by incredible talent in genres that I hadn’t been exposed to much back home on Long Island, and have found myself immersed in the indie-rock/pop, folk, and shoegaze music scenes. I really enjoy these kinds of music and there is an abundance of bands and artists in Nashville under those genres and more that have inspired what I hope will be a new wave of fresh sounding songs.


How would you say your craft has evolved since you started writing songs at age 12?

I would say that I am more intentional now with the structure of songs, I consider the commercial quality of the song depending on if I’m writing for myself or another person. If it’s for myself I know I can write 100% true to me, detailed storytelling lyrics, and structure can be a bit more loose or vague. But when writing for someone else I try to really be intentional about not being too wordy or detailed, and to be organized and keep in mind what would be most digestible, yet still honest, to a listener. 


How do you balance being a full-time student at Belmont and pursuing your dreams as a professional singer-songwriter?

It’s been a busy time for sure! I love my time I’ve spent here at Belmont so far, I’ve met the most incredible and supportive friends and artists. I have been able to form connections that have led to me pursuing work outside of just the Belmont music scene, which I am super excited about and grateful for. I try to set aside time to do homework and then also record music and do co-writes. I spend a lot of time sending emails and creating social media content. It’s definitely a busy schedule, but using an agenda helps me stay organized and I always like to prioritize self-care days! 


Image credit: Izzy Potter


What’s it like being an independent artist in an industry that often pushes people to work with major labels?

I really love being an independent artist right now, because it comes with the freedom that once you sign with a label, you give a piece away. Labels can be fantastic, but I feel at this point in my career–or in any indie artist in the beginning stage of their career– I think it’s best to stay independent until you can’t. Until you no longer can manage yourself, you’re becoming too big, then that's when having a label come in and help out and finding the right manager/agent can be incredibly beneficial. It’s all about finding that genuine team that cares about you. 


What inspired you to write “can’t end what never was”? To what extent do real life experiences factor into it?

This song was definitely based on real life experience. I have songs where I write stories that are true to my life, some true to others lives, and some are stories I completely make up for the sake of a song. This song, “can’t end what never was” is personal to me. I wrote it my freshman year of college after the end of a complex and undefined relationship, aka “situationship.” We had never defined what was happening between us, but we weren’t just friends. When we “ended” I joked with my friends how do you end something that never got started? I said you can’t end what never was. We never dated, we weren’t together but we weren’t not together. Oh, the complexity, haha. Anyways, then I started writing the song and it poured out of me in one sitting.


You’ve pinned a playlist on your Spotify of songs that inspired “can’t end what never was.” What songs on this playlist would you say have the most direct influence on your song?

In terms of lyrics, “man” by Quinnie definitely had the most influence. Melodically “MUD” by Slow Pulp and “Worse Together” by Venus & the Flytraps inspired the big punchy chorus melodies.



What are some of the most valuable things that being an NSAI member has taught you? How did it feel to be recognized by them as “One To Watch”?

Being a member of NSAI is awesome. It’s a really great resource to connect with other writers and have opportunities to have your work evaluated by professionals. It’s definitely taught me to take criticism haha, which I do appreciate. It felt amazing to be recognized as “One To Watch” as a songwriter. It stands as a reminder to me that even in moments of doubt, I am in the right place at the right time, doing what I love, and doing it well (hopefully!). 


What are some highlights from 2023 that you’re most proud of, and what do you hope to accomplish in 2024?

2023 saw some amazing music opportunities. I had the pleasure to open for the talented band and hometown friends Arcy Drive at their sold out Bowery Ballroom NYC debut in March. That was one of the best shows I have ever done in my life, it was an honor to support them and they had the sweetest, most respectful and cool fans. September brought even more joy, I had the chance to play my first headline show at The End in Nashville and play alongside some of my favorite people/artists. And now I just released this single, and am ending the year with a show. I couldn’t be more grateful and I can’t wait to see what 2024 brings. I hope to release more music, play a music festival, make a Spotify editorial, tour? So many awesome things to accomplish!



And now, to wrap things up with our P&P Classic: what’s a lyric from “can’t end what never was” that stands out to you? How does it resonate with you, and what was going through your head as you wrote it? 

The lyric “Had a toothbrush at your place / I wanted to go with grace” is one of my favorite lines. I feel like it’s very to the point, but honest and relatable. It sets the scene for how close these two people really were, and how I tried to leave with grace and dignity but it’s not so easy after everything we’d been through. I also like “pearls and polish / a feminist, says he's a “real good guy” hahaha because this is every “indie” man trope. The “softboy scam” as Quinnie would call it.


Fueled by her raw, poignant vocal delivery, "can't end what never was" is a sophisticated yet authentic reflection on a universal experience. Though the song contains just enough personal details to truly sell the story, it remains relatable to a wide range of listeners. Following in the footsteps of today's greatest singer/songwriters, Izzy is cementing her status as the next big thing - so be sure to keep your eyes on her name! If you feel inspired to dive deeper into her discography, here's a playlist we've curated that we think you might like.




Related Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page