top of page
  • Karly Ramnani

P&P Spotlight: Lily Pierce

As 2023 comes to a close, Lily Pierce encourages all the single ladies to embrace this era of their lives with her debut single "6 AM." An exciting, heartfelt hype track, "6 AM" stems from Lily's personal experience after her own breakup. Lily's journey in navigating her newfound independence has yielded a sassy, enthralling bop. The immense power behind her vocals, along with her deliberate approach to songwriting, allows Lily to start her solo career with a bang. Recently, Playlists & Polaroids got to catch up with Lily about "6 AM" and her artistic journey, and the rising star held nothing back. Working on "6 AM" - as well as its follow up, which we'd advise you to stay tuned for - was the experience of a lifetime for her, and we loved hearing about it!


Image credit: Lily Pierce, graphic created by Karly Ramnani


YOU'LL LOVE LILY PIERCE IF YOU LISTEN TO: Taylor Swift, Tate McRae, Olivia Rodrigo, Sabrina Carpenter, Nessa Barrett, Madison Beer, Carole King, Demi Lovato, Carly Simon, Renee Rapp, Camila Cabello, Jessie Murph


What were some of your earliest introductions to music? 

I grew up singing and performing in school plays and choruses ever since elementary school, when we had music classes and our first school play. My earliest memory was my first solo in a musical about animals when I was about four or five. I still have the recording on my phone somewhere. I started taking voice lessons shortly after and having recitals at a space called “music training center” in my hometown. 


Another one was watching so many Disney movies and singing along to them. My dad's ringtone on his phone from my calls was 5-year-old me singing "Part Of Your World," and that lasted for seven years. I also grew up watching American Idol ever since the first season started, and I’d say that was a huge inspiration for me, and growing up I had always wanted to go on it. Eventually, I started performing in rock bands and more productions of musicals growing up. 


How did you know that this is what you wanted to do professionally - were there some defining moments that stuck out to you? 

I think I've always wanted to do multiple things like act, write, sing, direct, etc. but actually recently, I've really just found for songwriting specifically that this is what I feel I was meant to do. After my breakup about six months ago, I started picking up songwriting again. I had done a lot in high school but have been in college for acting the last two years. Ever since my breakup happened though, I’ve written over 50 songs since June. All are about so many different things; learning and growing, reflecting on experiences I've gone through, how I’ve changed, how I haven't. 


About three months ago, I had this one moment after I finished writing my second single I'm coming out with. After I recorded the first demo of me singing and playing, I just sat there in silence. I reflected back on what I had just created and all the work I'd done so far –I was in my room on my bed with my keyboard and I thought to myself: “I'm actually pretty good at this. I am so happy. I haven't felt this excited in so long and I think this is such a relatable song.” In that moment, I just realized that this is what I want to do. This is the thing that's going to change everything for me. After realizing that I've just only become more inspired and created a ten step plan for how to self-start, and I've been following that ever since while adding new things to the list. 


Which artists influence you the most, and who would be your dream collaborators in the industry? 

I think one of my oldest and still most prevalent influences is Carole King. I think she paved the way for a lot of female songwriters to have a chance and be taken seriously in the music industry. Her lyrics are so raw and full of life and her music is so sad and sweet at the same time, which is a theme I strive for. 


A lot of Camila Cabello’s writing and of course, Taylor Swift's lyrics specifically, inspired me in high school. She would always kind of set up a story to be told in the beginning of her songs and I think that's a theme I have developed with basically all of my songs. There is always a beginning, middle and end story-wise, but there is a clear little kind of prologue no matter what kind of song it is, either sad or happy. I also want to include Bruno Mars in this as well.


More recently, I am a big fan of Madison Beer, Tate McRae, Reneé Rapp, Sabrina Carpenter, Olivia Rodrigo, etc. I would love to collaborate with any of them. I think they are all so talented and have so much fun and a sense of play in their music, while also keeping it real, and are the future of music for our generation and ones to come. I love music that I can just scream to (internally or externally) because I feel it, I relate to it, or at least some kind of theme/idea in the song and I have that experience with all of these artists. 


What inspired you to write “6 AM,” and to what extent do your personal experiences factor into it? 

This story is actually really funny. I wrote the first draft at 6 a.m., getting back basically morning time after clubbing all night. I had a great night. I went out dancing with some friends and I ended up hooking up with some random guy who said I was the most beautiful girl he’d ever seen or something like that. (Honestly I don't even remember his name). The music that night was so good… and I wasn't really that into him after a few minutes. And honestly, I kind of just wanted to dance. So mid-way, I just politely ditched him to dance, and just had such a blast feeling myself and having fun with my friends. 


I came home and kind of just felt really happy with myself and on top of the world. A few months ago, I was having the hardest time being single. I was in a relationship basically my entire high school career up to junior year of college now, so it was a very hard transition. At the beginning I kept saying “I hate not being in a relationship,” but that night really enforced the realization that…wait…this is actually so much fun, I can do whatever I want, and if I want it, I easily get it. But more importantly, "6 AM" also shares the message that I learned, which is [that] you don't need any man in order to have a good time or feel good about yourself. All you need is your friends and a good song. 


The song is also about how not all parts of breakups and healing are bad. I had realized I like doing a lot of things I didn't think I did, like going out and partying. I think this is because after being in a relationship for so long, when you start to have different wants, it can become kind of blurry. I think I found more of who I was and what I like after it ended. Which was devastating at the same time, but honestly this song brings out the great sides of it. 


You’ve described “6 AM” on Instagram as a fun, hype track. How do you like to approach these kinds of tracks, in terms of songwriting? 

I think I approach almost all my songs in the same way - story wise. I set it up with that kind of prologue idea I was talking about earlier. So in the beginning of "6 AM," I set the stage with a fun little audio that implies I or someone has been out all night, and then it [is] revealed right after this is the first time I've been single, so we know the song is going to be about that. Then the rest of the song after that little intro really opens up about the “fun phase” of being newly single and the messages "6 AM" entails. 


Tonally is where I think my songwriting tactics change a little, since this is a hype track and not a sad song. I approach these kinds of tracks kind of like an anthem for something exciting. My visual for the song was something that I could cheer to at a party with my friends and jump up and down to. So it has to be something catchy but also authentic. The songs are all pulled from personal experiences so that definitely is why they all are 100% authentic. It helps to write them immediately as I'm coming up with the words.


Then I just experiment on piano to find the right chords that match the happy/hype kind of rock vibe, because the words are there and they make it easy to understand the vibe I am going for. Then once I have something together I make a small demo. I flushed it all out a lot more with Matt and we worked from the ground up with everything I had been able to create initially on my own. We brainstormed and I explained what kind of instruments, tempo, genre, etc. I also used inspiration songs from artists I liked (I had a pinterest board for that and every single song I make) and together we pieced together and soon enough I was hearing exactly what I had been hearing in my head. 



Why do you feel as though “6 AM” is the right song to release as your debut single? 

I think "6 AM" is the right way to kickstart my journey because It's also not something you hear every day, and I think so many people need to hear a song like this to get out of a rut when dealing with a heartache. and I'm glad I can give people that. it's such a feel good song and I think we all need one of those. 


The first two songs I am coming out with are extremely different and beautiful in their own ways. I think when choosing which song to release first – and I love both equally – it had a lot to do with [the fact that the] one released first would hold up so much excitement and space, and then give way for the next single to show that I have a lot of variety and capability as an artist. I would say "6 AM"'s style is much more unique than my second one, which is a slow emotional ballad. Matt [Anthony] and I decided it would be better to release a ballad second rather than first. 


How was it working with Matt Anthony? Is “6 AM” your first collaboration with him? 

Working with Matt was probably one of the best decisions I've ever made. It was like a dream come true. I spent so much time looking for the right person to help me make my songs, and Matt just makes everything I hear in my head come to life. We are always on the same page about what the song needs, and if we aren't we just chat and experiment until the right thing works, which usually doesn't take long. It's been such a smooth and exciting process so far and he's also just so supportive and the nicest guy. He has a great ear also, which is very convenient for arranging and mixing/mastering. I can honestly say it's been a dream come true to start this journey with him as a collaborator. And he's also an Eagles fan like me, so that's been really fun to talk about. 


You’ve shared your travels on social media a lot - Paris, London, and New York to name a few. What’s your favorite place you’ve traveled for a gig? What about just in general? 

I just started traveling over the summer. I had never gotten [to travel] too much before, so this was so exciting. I loved Paris. I want to live there for a year at some point in my life. I think it's a perfect place for me. It's fun and exciting like NYC but it was also a breath of fresh air, and it felt like I could just relax slightly more and admire my surroundings. I walked around for hours just exploring and found so many interesting things. I journaled, had the best gelato ever, and really got to sit with myself in this beautiful city. So far I think that is probably my favorite place I've been so far, but I've barely begun traveling and I want to see so many places like Thailand, Italy, Iceland, etc. so it's barely begun for me. I haven't been able to travel much for gigs yet, but I would love to play in Nashville and more places around NYC, which is something I am currently looking into. 



I also really love the song covers you’ve posted! What’s your favorite cover to perform live and why?

Thank you! I’ve performed at Don't Tell Mama a few times now. I think my favorite thing I have performed was “You're So Vain" because it was so much fun and therapeutic for us all to sing that song together at the end. I was really excited about that. That song brings out so much sass in me and it's fun to sing in my range. I also am a die hard fan of Carole King so singing any song of hers is a treasure. My favorite cover that I want to perform next is “Somebody To Love” by Queen. I love that song for my voice and there's so much richness I bring to it every time I sing it. A little control is lost in the best way. So hopefully I can do that soon. 



What are your goals in music for the new year? At the moment, do you have anything in store that fans can look forward to? 

So many goals. I want to perform live in as many places as I can. I am really hoping to grow a fan base and share my songs with everyone. I would love to create a community with people who like to listen and share in the happiness and pain and whatever else comes with the life experiences I have written about. I would love to raise enough money to make an album– I have like 80 songs after all. I already know what I would call the album, I have the cover art Pinterest board and song tracklist all ready to go. It's just about finding the means to create that which I am working on and constantly brainstorming. My dream goal down the line would be to get recognized and start working with a label or someone who would fund my music, so I could just keep making it and start performing it more and more for people. But I also want to learn how to produce my own music, which I'm currently trying to do, it’s just a long process. 


I have so much in store. If you think I can write happy songs well...then…there's some great sad/upset songs coming that I think fans will love. I have two more singles in the works so far and the advertising and promo for those has been so fun to make as well. These are definitely songs people can cry, scream, and melt along to. 


And now, to wrap things up with our P&P Classic: what’s a lyric from “6 AM” that stands out to you? How does it resonate with you, and what was going through your head as you wrote it? 

“Damn being single’s not too bad, I don't even have to try.” This is a funny line no doubt, but for me it's deeper than that because I thought being single would genuinely be the hardest thing in the world. I always had someone there loving me and then it was gone, out of nowhere. This breakup was my worst fear come true and I thought I wouldn't survive it –and sometimes it still feels like that because that's grief and healing – but honestly, there are some great parts about being on my own and it's a relief to be able to say I got to that point and that realization. 


It’s also a relief to be single because I don't have to try so hard anymore to make someone else happy. I don't have to try anything in general. It's freeing and less exhausting. I can just be confident in myself and hang with my friends, and things come to me instead if I want them, because I have built that confidence now. That's why that lyric sticks out to me.


The captivating "6 AM" is one of the best and most underrated debut singles we've heard in a while. With the track's timely arrival, Lily can really make 2024 her year. We admire her unmatched ambition and refreshing perspective, and we can't wait to see how her artistry grows from here! On that note, here's a playlist we've curated that we think captures Lily's vibe.





Related Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page