top of page
  • Karly Ramnani

P&P Spotlight: Lily Forte

The music industry has found its modern day Carole King, and it's the innovative powerhouse Lily Forte. After moving from Florida to study at USC's renowned music school, she's been working diligently on her craft and building a fanbase. Currently based out of Los Angeles, Lily has performed at iconic venues such as The Troubador, The Moroccan Lounge, and The Peppermint Club. Through every release, Lily showcases her effortless grit and mature sound, but at the same time, she maintains a deeply personal and emotional delivery.


Lily's music carries qualities of nostalgia in its jazz and rock & roll influences, while borrowing techniques from today's radio hits that speak to younger generations. Her talents in composition and lyricism shine through in cinematic tracks, like the sultry "Reminisce on Innocence" and "Stares." Recently, Playlists & Polaroids had the privelege of chatting with Lily about her overall journey and artistic approach. Keep reading for our full interview with her!


Image credit: Lily Forte, graphic created by Karly Ramnani


YOU'LL LOVE LILY FORTE IF YOU LISTEN TO: Carole King, Joan Jett, Dylan, Lana Del Rey, Suki Waterhouse, Lady Gaga, Ashe


First of all, Forte is the perfect surname for a musician! Is this your real name or a stage name? Would you describe your approach as loud or bold, just like the musical term? 

This is my real name! It just so happened to work out that I got to use my real name for my music career. And definitely, the word Forte means a lot to me as it comes from my family. I have “Forte” tattooed on my wrist as a reminder that I come from a strong line of Forte’s. Musically, I am loud and intense as well.


I love how your roots in jazz/blues shine through in your craft to this day. What drew you to the saxophone as a child, and what inspired you to start writing your own songs? 

When I was younger, I started out singing jazz covers which then led me to choose the saxophone in my school jazz band. I’ve always loved the way the saxophone sounds so I was excited when my school gave me the opportunity to learn the instrument. In regard to writing my own songs, I started at 12 years old. I had always been inspired by storytelling, whether that was in books or movies, and I also loved to perform. I felt drawn to the keyboard and wanted to tell stories of my own. Since then, I haven’t stopped writing.


Who did you grow up listening to, and who’s on your playlist now? How do these names creatively inspire you? 

I grew up listening to Neil Young, Carole King, Lana Del Rey. My current playlist favorites are Chappell Roan, Jeff Buckley, Suki Waterhouse. All these artists inspire me creatively because they take risks and are just one of a kind artists.


How has your sound evolved over the years, and how did it arrive at what it currently is?

I feel like my sound evolves alongside my age. With each new year that comes I have more to say in my writing as well. It took me awhile to arrive at my current sound but my influences of jazz, blues, and rock n roll have helped me get here. I love the push and pull of mixing genres. I like to describe myself as alt-pop with a bluesy flare.


Image credit: Lily Forte


Your music is the perfect mix of old Hollywood glam, rock & roll, and traditional singer/songwriter influences. I love how that reflects in your style, makeup, and overall aesthetic. How long did it take to come up with an image and personal brand that reflects all of this? 

I feel like my artistry is always changing but the constant is my duality. At my core, I love both rock & roll and pop. Over the years I’ve discovered more of myself through this image. It’s taken time to craft my image and I am excited to see how it evolves even more over the years. 


What’s your favorite venue or event in LA you’ve played at so far, and why?

The Troubadour has definitely been my favorite LA venue. I could feel the history of the room as soon as I walked in and it was surreal to say I’ve played on the same stage as some of my favorite artists. 


What is your favorite song to perform live and why? 

I love performing “Reminisce on Innocence” live. I love when the crowd sings along, its such a fun song to do with the band as well.


What’s next for you? Do you have any big projects in the works, which fans can look forward to this summer? 

I’m currently finishing my EP to be out this summer and I will have a new single out very soon which I am so excited about. This summer I’m playing my first music festival as well - Surf Rodeo in Ventura, California! I can’t wait.

 

How did the production of your upcoming single “Stares” come together? Who did you work with on this, or is it self-produced? 

Stares came together with mostly live tracked instruments - live drums, bass, guitar. We leaned into the sultry rock n’ roll story. I worked with one of my good friends and producers Dylan Thomas on this song. It was so much fun!


Despite her instantly recognizable sound, each song in Lily's growing discography brings something unique to the table. Lily fuses a wide array of aesthetics and influences into a cohesive, distinctive musical style - she's the rare artist that breaks genre boundaries in a deliberate and moving manner. By now, we hope that we've inspired you to dive deeper into Lily's world. Here's a playlist we've curated to capture her vibe!




Related Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page