top of page
Karly Ramnani

P&P Spotlight: Sarah Gray

We'd argue that there are few things better than an artist using their platform to let fans know that they're not alone in their struggles. With a raw, autobiographical anthem about self-consciousness and body positivity, Sarah Gray does just this as she adds her own twist to Nashville's signature singer/songwriter style. In her debut single "Jeans," her powerhouse alto shines against a minimalist, guitar-driven instrumental.


More importantly, the song showcases her knack for storytelling. As the track builds in intensity, Sarah chronicles her journey of learning to love her reflection in the mirror. She concludes with moment she listened to her mother's advice, realizing that she is worth much more than a number on a clothing tag or a scale.


Ahead of the release of "Jeans," Playlists & Polaroids got the chance to catch up with Sarah about the song and her overall musical journey. We're proud to have found Sarah at the very beginning of her career, and we sense big things coming soon for her. Keep reading for our full interview with her!


Image credit: Sarah Gray, graphic created by Karly Ramnani


YOU'LL LOVE TO KILL A MONSTER IF YOU LISTEN TO: Taylor Swift, Sasha Alex Sloan, Finneas, Madi Diaz, Julia Michaels, Renee Rapp, OneRepublic, Dean Lewis, Ruth B


What artists did you grow up listening to, and who's on your playlist now? How do all of these names influence your craft? 

Growing up, I listened to such a wide range of music. My dad has always been a huge fan of 80s and 90s music, so whenever I was in the car with him, Cyndi Lauper, Prince, Michael Jackson, Madonna, and so many others were playing around me. I remember vividly watching Michael Jackson’s music videos with my dad on the weekends and admiring his artistry so much. However, like many girls from my generation, I grew up idolizing Taylor Swift. My first Taylor Swift concert was the Red Tour and I can still remember being in awe of her throughout the entire concert. I watched endless interviews of Taylor on YouTube, read all of the books about her, and listened to all of her albums over and over again- she truly is the reason why I started writing songs. Nowadays, I listen to a lot of various artists, mainly in the pop/ alternative genre. My favorite artists of all-time include Sasha Alex Sloan, Finneas, Madi Diaz, Julia Michaels, and Reneé Rapp (I truly could go on and on). I admire all of these artists so deeply, especially their ability to write captivating and unique lyrics. I am a sucker for a good story and all of these artists have mastered the craft of storytelling. 


What are some of your favorite venues you've performed at, and what makes them stand out to you? 

Living in Nashville, I am constantly going to various venues around the city, watching my idols take the stage. One of the most notable and bucket list venues that I recently got to play was The Bluebird Cafe which truly was one of the coolest moments. It honestly was terrifying looking out to the full room of people who were silently listening to my song. Some of my favorite musicians have played at the Bluebird, including Taylor Swift, so I am so grateful that I got to play on that stage. Additionally, I recently played at the Basement for their New Faces Night which was super fun. The actual venue is small and grungy but the audience was super engaged and I truly had a blast. I can’t wait to keep playing around Nashville and hopefully around the country in the next year. 


How long have you been writing songs? In what ways has your songwriting evolved in that time?

I was first introduced to songwriting by my first piano teacher when I was seven years old. At the time, I was a huge Taylor Swift fan and loved her storytelling so much. I admired her ability to put on such an incredible show. Quickly after being introduced to songwriting, I became obsessed with it. I would write about the weirdest things in the world- elephants, ice cream, school- but I had the best time. As I got older and learned to play guitar, I really took songwriting seriously. I actually visited Nashville for the first time with my mom when I was twelve to attend a songwriting workshop with the Nashville Songwriters Association International (NSAI) which taught me so much about song structure, lyric writing, and hooky melodies. Since then, I’ve always loved to attend various songwriting workshops yearly in order to expand my knowledge of the craft. Being in Nashville full-time, I write constantly with various artists and songwriters around town which has also improved my songwriting skills tremendously. 


Why do you feel as though “Jeans” is the right song to release as your debut single? 

To be completely honest, I am absolutely terrified to release “Jeans” as my debut single. It’s a song that I needed to hear when I was going through my body image struggles, and I hope that it can help others in the world who are also struggling. While I’m scared to put out the song and be vulnerable, I also know that as an artist, I want my music to align with my truth and this song is my truth completely. I feel that it highlights my story in a perfect way and shows how I’ve grown throughout the years as a songwriter, artist, and human. I want to show my listeners that I am not afraid to be raw and honest in my songwriting. 


Image credit: Sarah Gray


How long ago did you write "Jeans"? If you feel comfortable sharing - how does your perception of beauty standards/body image today compare to when you first wrote the song?

I wrote “Jeans” last summer while I was living alone in Nashville. I was going through a period in my life where I was doing a lot of inner work in order to find my voice as an artist. “Jeans” was a song that truly poured out of me as I wrote the majority of the song in under 20 minutes - something that never really happens for me. The song is everything that I was feeling at the time and what I was going through. While I feel that social media is important, I do think that unfortunately it really is a giant highlight reel where people post the “perfected” versions of themselves. My body image struggles started when I was a young teenager and when I first got social media. I remember constantly comparing myself to others and their bodies. For this reason, I truly want to highlight the “imperfect” version of myself to my listeners as no person is ever “perfect.” I hope that young girls especially don’t obsess over social media like I did as it really does negatively affect one's self image. 


What are some of the biggest lessons you've learned about self-love and body positivity over the years?

One of the most important lessons that I’ve learned about self-love is that it’s an ongoing process that has many ups and downs. When I first started my recovery, I had the expectation that I would one day wake up and love my body and that would be that. However, I now have learned that self-love is something that has to be practiced regularly. I’ve noticed that as I’ve started to become kinder to my body and myself, other people around me have started treating themselves with more respect. I strongly believe that if more people learn to be kinder with themselves, there wouldn't be as many body image issues. 


How does the environment and music scene of Nashville inspire you as an artist? 

Nashville is one of my favorite cities in the entire world. No matter where I go, restaurants, stores, coffee shops, concerts, there are songwriters and musicians everywhere. The air in Nashville is different - it breeds creativity and self-expression. I’ve met so many incredible artists throughout my time in Nashville who have encouraged me to become a better performer, songwriter, and person. My favorite part about living in the city is getting to go to watch so much live music from various writers rounds to local music venues. Everytime I leave a show, I am so inspired to get better and better at my craft. 


Image credit: Sarah Gray


In what ways has your experience in the International Songwriters Competition help you grow as an artist?

I truly am so grateful that I have been a semi-finalist in the International Songwriters Competition two years in a row. All of the past winners and judges are absolute incredible musicians and getting to be a part of the competition motivates me to submit an even better song year after year. Listening to the top songs from the competition every year, I am inspired to push myself as an artist creatively and write outside of my comfort zone. 


It's so cool that you've performed at the Sundance Film Festival! Can you walk us through how you got this gig, as well as some of the biggest highlights of your experience there?

Getting to perform at the Sundance Film Festival was absolutely incredible! For the past few months, I have been interning under Liz Rogers, founder of Anacrusis Songs, which is a sync-licensing and publishing company, based out of Nashville. Through this internship, I have been exposed to so many various sync artists, songwriters and producers. I have studied sync trends and learned what makes a song right for a TV show, movie, or commercial. Every year, Liz hosts a songwriting retreat during the week of the festival in Utah and she graciously let me come along this past year. All of the artists that came on the retreat are seriously amazing and truly have inspired me to venture into the sync side of the music industry. I was fortunate to get to play at the festival three times throughout the week I was there – an experience I will never forget! 


Tell us about working with Phil Barnes! In what ways do his production and artistry resonate with you?

Phil Barnes is one of the kindest and most talented human beings that I have ever met. He is such a fantastic producer, songwriter, artist, and mentor in so many ways. Getting the opportunity to work with him throughout the past few months has been seriously life changing for me as an artist and songwriter. Recording “Jeans” was nothing but an incredible experience. I was able to be a part of the entire recording process from start to finish and really felt that my voice as an artist was heard throughout the recording of the song. I am so lucky to have found a producer who listens to my artistic vision and challenges me to become a better songwriter and artist. So beyond grateful! 


Image credit: Sarah Gray


What are your goals in music for 2024? Now that "Jeans" is out, do you have anything in store that fans can look forward to?

I am so excited for this next year musically and artistically! I have been recording a bunch of new music with Phil the past few months and I am super excited to share it with the world. I also am going to be recording songs for my sync project which definitely leans more dark-pop than my artist project. I would love to venture more into the sync world this year as I absolutely love the marriage of music and picture. Additionally, I’m really hoping to continue to perform more around the country and around Nashville and possibly open up for artists on their tours. 2024 is going to be a good one!


Finally, the P&P classic! What’s a lyric from “Jeans” that stands out to you? Walk us through the process of yourself writing it, and how does it speak to you personally?

That is such a hard question! I would say the last section of “Jeans'' is the most honest and raw part of the song. It’s the section where I truly feel that I am sharing my truth with my listeners. For the longest time while I was in the depths of my body image struggles, I had a really difficult relationship with my mom. I would fight with her constantly about food and my body because I was in denial that I had a problem. As I’ve gone through recovery and gotten to the other side, my relationship with my mom is better than ever. In this part of the song, I wanted to pay homage to my mom and how much she truly saved me. My favorite line within that section is “buy a new pair of dreams, no more blue jeans" as it highlights how a simple pair of jeans does not define a person. Life is so much more than your weight, what you eat, and the size of jeans that you wear. It took me a very long time to understand that but getting to the other side was so worth it. I hope that this song inspires those who are struggling, to do the work to get to the other side too. 


"Jeans" serves as a strong start to Sarah Gray's music career, and we're excited to see her growth over the course of this year. We love the way she taps into the expressive and healing qualities of music in a truly inspirational track. We can't be the only ones impatiently waiting for that follow-up single - but in the meantime, here's a playlist we've curated to capture her vibe!





Related Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page