top of page
  • Karly Ramnani

P&P Spotlight: Elle Rose

Look out, country-pop fans - a fresh face has come to "Steal" your heart. With a diverse set of influences and well-rounded approach to creating music, Elle Rose is quickly climbing the ranks in Nashville's music scene. In her latest single, Elle balances vengeance and vulnerability as she condemns a toxic ex-boyfriend. "Steal" is a masterpiece filled with wordplay, symbolism, and an unapologetic boldness.


Recently, Playlists & Polaroids got the chance to catch up with Elle. We love the insight she gave us on "Steal," her collaborators, and her artistic journey as a whole. Read our full interview with her below!


Image Credit: Elle Rose, graphic created by Karly Ramnani


YOU'LL LOVE ELLE ROSE IF YOU LISTEN TO: Taylor Swift, Maren Morris, Kacey Musgraves, The Chicks, Kelsea Ballerini, Shania Twain


What types of music did you grow up listening to, and what drew you to country pop in particular? How did you know that this is what you wanted to do professionally?

Growing up I was surrounded by pretty much every type of music. My dad is a professional jazz musician and classical composer, and my mom is a professional pianist. Because of this, I was listening to Louis Armstrong, the Beatles, and Stevie Wonder with my dad; and artists like John Mayer, The Chicks, and Faith Hill with my mom. I am so grateful to have had all types of music flooding my ears, as it ultimately led to becoming the singer and songwriter I am today. As I grew older and started to find my voice, I gravitated towards 90s female powerhouses such as The Chicks, Shania Twain, and Faith Hill. I also gravitated towards really strong storytelling, and became highly influenced by artists like John Mayer, Amos Lee, and Taylor Swift. That's where I believe the country and pop genres meshed in my brain, and it all started to click! I have never had a plan B, music is in my blood and bones, and I have never questioned that this is what I was made to do.


How would you compare the music scenes of Boston and Nashville?

The music scene in Boston versus Nashville is polar opposite, to be quite honest! The scene in Boston can be quite limiting long term, if you are someone who strays outside of the jazz, classical, or indie world. That all being said, if you do associate with those genres, Boston can be one of the most incredible places for you to be for your career, in terms of education and networking. Nashville’s music scene has always felt extremely welcoming and open. Everyone wants to know you and know what you're about. There are endless opportunities for you there, no matter what genre. What I always say about Nashville is that you will always be "one person away" from an artist, writer, or producer you look up to. Everyone knows everyone!


What are some ways that attending Berklee helped you grow as a performer and a songwriter?

I always knew I wanted to study at Berklee, the education and networking opportunities you will get while being at that school are truly unmatched. While studying at Berklee, I was performing in one way or another 2-3 times per week, just through my classes. Looking back, that to me was one of the most impactful aspects of my education there. You are practicing your musicianship everyday in one way or another, just by attending your classes. Another way I grew a lot as a songwriter at Berklee was being introduced to music theory, and song-editing. The skills I learned about taking your writing to a professional level are skills I incorporate every time I am in a session in Nashville to this day. My mentor at Berklee once told me that "you never want to be the dumbest musician in the room." Harsh yes, but this stuck with me forever. Singers (particularly in genres other than classical or jazz) are not typically taught a lot of music theory and technique. Because of this, when you start transitioning into a more professional level, it's easy to find yourself in sessions or rehearsals where you will be the one everyone looks at as "the weakest link," just because there is a stigma with singers not knowing as much theory, technique, or whatever it may be, as the other musicians. Being able to have an education at Berklee will secure you with skills that will help you feel confident in never being "the dumbest musician in the room.”


Image credit: Elle Rose


How did “Steal” and its meaning for you evolve from the time you wrote it in 2021, to releasing it in 2023?

I love this question! When I wrote "Steal" back in 2021, it was like a diary entry for me. It was the first step in my healing journey from a very traumatic ending of a relationship. It represented fear, heartbreak, and moving on. For me now, this song represents strength. I listen to this song and I think "Wow. I am so proud of that version of myself for knowing my self-worth, being so vulnerable, and overcoming one of the hardest periods of my life.” This song used to represent a lot of fear for me, but now when I listen, I feel as though I have taken my power back.


I love the split-screen moments in the music video. What made you want to use that technique, and in what ways were you hoping it would add to the story of “Steal”?

I have to give full credit to the director, Erica Silverman, and the editor, Tiffany Taveras for this artistic choice! When I brought the song to Erica, she immediately took it and ran full force with it. Her mind amazes me! Both she and Tiffany collaborated on the editing for this, and decided to add split screens to show all the different sides of emotion throughout this song.


Tell us more about your experience working with Erica Silverman! Had you guys collaborated before the “Steal” music video? How did you know she’d be the perfect director for this project?

Erica is truly an angel. When planning this project, I had been researching music video directors for quite some time, and never came across someone that I knew in my gut was the right person for this. I think music videos can very easily feel cheesy and unoriginal, and this is why I have strayed from making one up until now. I came across a music video for Hailey Whitters one day, and something about the style and quality was so impactful to me. I knew right then and there that whoever created this video was going to create mine too. I found Erica’s email and proposed a very small budget to her, bracing myself for her response. She is very critically acclaimed, and I didn't have high hopes that she would even respond. She ended up being super into the project, and very flexible with my tiny budget. She essentially did everything she could to help me make this project possible for me, and for that I am forever grateful.


How did you conceptualize the dark undertones and Easter eggs in the music video?

Everything in the video is based on true experiences from the relationship I was in. I knew right off the bat that I wanted there to be specific hidden themes and objects within the video, and Erica really helped me explore how to convey this. There was a ring that I was given by the person the song is about, and this ring ended up being a big part of the relationship. I ended up keeping it at the end of our relationship purely because I knew it would come in handy in an artistic way later on. You will see the ring throughout the video, whether it's hanging on the rearview mirror or worn by Jake, the male actor, in the video. Another easter egg is the song being played in the beginning; this was a song this person showed me and one we listened to together often.



You’ve shared that the boy “Steal” is about has a last name pronounced like the title of the song, but spelled differently. First of all, you’re so iconic for this - it reminds me of “Dear John” or “Style” by Taylor Swift. But what inspired you to use this sneaky wordplay?

Haha! Thank you. To be honest, wordplay and direct references have been a part of my songwriting style for as long as I can remember. I do have to give a lot of credit to Taylor Swift for this. I think that adding clever wordplay and real life references into my music makes it that much more of a cathartic moment for me personally. When I listen back to songs I've written and released, it brings me back to the specific time in my life that I wrote these songs about. It reminds me of how far I have come in terms of life lessons and maturing. That is such a cool feeling that I can't really explain.


Another thing you’ve mentioned is you wanted the music video to “make you feel deeply, but not in a way where you even really know what feelings you had after watching.” Could you elaborate on this a little?

This song stems from the aftermath of an abusive relationship. Because this is such a sensitive topic for both me and many others who may be watching the video, I didn't want to add any harsh triggers. I wanted the video to make you feel deeply just by watching my facial expressions, picking up on hidden images, and the emotion I convey while singing. I think anyone who watches the video will pick up on these things, and feel strongly afterwards - that was exactly my goal. I don't want people watching to feel triggered and negative emotions, I want them to feel bravery and strength.


“Steal” is the perfect song for an angry post-breakup playlist; listening to it was such a therapeutic experience! Would you say the same about writing the song? How much time had passed after the breakup when you wrote “Steal”?

Writing this song was therapy for me 100%. It was a feeling of taking my power back from a person that made me feel worthless. We wrote this song pretty fresh off the breakup - I want to say it had only been about a month after. I do think this is a main reason why the song feels so heavy.


Premiering the music video on CMT is such a huge accomplishment! How does it feel to cross off a bucket list item for many rising country singers?

Thank you so much! I can't explain how exciting this opportunity was for me. My main goal for this project was just to get it out there. To show it to as many people as possible. Having it on CMT was a huge push in that direction, and I am so grateful for that.



What were some highlights of co-writing with Claire Flynt and Sydney Matlock?

Claire and Sydney are like sisters to me. The dynamic when we write is like magic. We all have different strengths in terms of writing, which really helps the balance of our co-writes. I think the highlight of that session was when we discovered the chorus. Sydney was playing piano, and we all started messing around with how to fit our lyric ideas into the progression she was playing. I think it was Sydney who ended up landing on what is now the melody for the chorus. That moment was so special.


Who would be your dream co-writer in the industry that you haven’t yet worked with?

Jordan Reynolds. If I hear a song on country radio that I love, 9 out of 10 times it was written by him!


What are your goals in music for the new year? At the moment, do you have anything in store that fans can look forward to?

My biggest goal for the new year is to build up my team a bit more, and release a full album. I have been temporarily living in California for the past few months, which has given me the opportunity to hop over to LA and work with some people out there. I have been working on a track with producer Austin Corona, that I am super excited about. It's such a cool combo of LA pop production and Nashville country writing.


Finally, the P&P classic! What’s a lyric from “Steal” that stands out to you? Walk us through the process of yourself writing it, and how does it speak to you personally?

My favorite lyric from "Steal" is, "You'll never get what you need, even if you steal the best of me.” This lyric sums up the entire song. It's my final jab! It's the moment in the song where I take my power back, and realize that my self-worth will never be taken away from me.


Can we say that listening to "Steal" and watching its music video is a healthy, fulfilling alternative to therapy? Well, we're going to stand by that statement either way. If you want to extend your therapy session, we'd also highly recommend diving deeper into Elle's discography - and we've curated the perfect playlist for that! Just make sure you have the Kleenex handy.



Related Posts

See All
bottom of page