top of page
  • Karly Ramnani

P&P Spotlight: Erin O'Callaghan (EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW)

Why do we attribute human emotions and qualities to cities? For example, who began to associate Los Angeles with fame and fortune, and who let Paris and London become the world's capitals of love and romance? Residents of these places often argue that major cities aren't at all similar to how they are portrayed in the movies. In her recent release "Can't Go Back To London," Erin O'Callaghan explores how an ex tainted memories of London for her.


Erin's indie-alternative style carries hints of folk and jazz, evident through singles like "It's Always Been You" and "Can't Go Back To London," while melding mainstream pop influences from Ed Sheeran and Maisie Peters. Playlists & Polaroids had the privelege of chatting with Erin about her musical background and these two latest projects. Read our full interview with her below!


Image credit: Erin O'Callaghan, graphic created by Karly Ramnani


YOU'LL LOVE ERIN O'CALLAGHAN IF YOU LISTEN TO: Taylor Swift, Maisie Peters, Ed Sheeran, Joni Mitchell, Frank Sinatra, Ashe, Phoebe Bridgers


How long have you been performing and writing songs? In what ways has your creative process evolved over the years, especially since the pandemic?

If you are you counting the song I wrote when I was 4 years old, "Bounce Bounce Bounce in the deep blue sea- ea -ea," then I guess since I was 4 years old! Me and my friend used to write songs in the playground and make up little dances to show the teachers and kids. "Imagination" and "We’re Going to the Moon" were also cult classics! I suppose more seriously though, in my earlier teenage years.


I think I’ve definitely got better at writing songs, I now draw a lot more on real life rather than hypotheticals, which helps with detail. But the actual backbone of the process is very much the same as when I was 12, sitting in my room and humming melodies/ repeating words until something fits. During the pandemic, although there was more time to do that, it was also harder, because there wasn’t enough real life detail to write about and I find when I overthink, the songs aren’t as good.


Who are some of your favourite artists right now? Who would you say has the biggest influence on your craft and lyricism?

I’m really loving Katie Gregson-Macleod’s new EP, her lyricism is insane and her melodies make my heart physically hurt, specifically "TV Show" gets me in my feels. I’m also loving Eloise’s album and acoustic EP; her ability to create songs that feel like warm magic continues to inspire me. Ed Sheeran has also affected my early songwriting, especially his first two albums. I was the biggest fan at thirteen, singing covers in my room and trying to be a ginger singer-songwriter just like him! I am also the biggest day one Maisie Peters fan when it comes to lyrics and storytelling. Her ability to transform my mind into a place and heart into a feeling within seconds is SO good. I love how her intelligence and humour seeps through in her songs and am obsessed with The Good Witch.


Since ‘It’s Always Been You’ was written during the pandemic, do you feel as though a state of loneliness and isolation influenced how it turned out?

Yes, for sure, but not in a disconnected lonely way. I actually fell in love for the first time just before the pandemic, so there was an added layer of romantic isation because we couldn’t see each other. Yes, it was difficult to have physical isolation, but emotionally it was also more romantic and exciting. I channelled the loneliness when it appeared and wrote a love song like Frank Sinatra might have written a love letter 70 years ago – I knew it would be a while until I saw my partner, in the same way Sinatra knew it would be a while before his love read the letter.


In what ways has jazz music influenced your craft? What draws you into this genre of music?

La La Land was probably how the obsession began, but the rabbit hole deepened in lockdown when I found comfort in artists like Billie Holiday and Chet Baker who sing of love so sweetly. There’s something warm & comforting about jazz and even if you look at old Christmas songs, they’re all jazz standards that feel nostalgic. That’s how I wanted "It’s Always Been You" and "Can’t Go Back to London" to feel. The two songs are conceptually different – one about love and one of heartbreak, but they are both intimate and I would like to think they are dreamy and calming like jazz.


What are you studying in school? How do you balance your studies with writing and performing music?

I’m studying Acting and English, it’s great! Acting is my other obsession and for as long as I can get away with it, I will refuse to choose between the two! It can be hard to balance them, but I’m always using inspiration from the real world of being a student. The hardest part is being a broke student and having to sacrifice studio time for essay deadlines and food bills.



How has the environment of Edinburgh given you inspiration as a singer-songwriter? What genres would you say have a big scene there?

The city is so beautiful, it would be hard for anyone to not be inspired. Through experiencing life away from home, it has allowed me to write more introspectively, therefore I have written better songs. There is definitely a growing music scene in Edinburgh, I think it favours more upbeat genres like rock bands and indie music but there is definitely space for some softer sadder singer-songwriters.


What made you decide to move to a bigger city? How does being an artist in Edinburgh feel different than being an artist in your smaller hometown?

I came to Edinburgh on a little solo-travel trip and fell in love with the city, it felt so right to move here. I love the whole aesthetic of coffee shops and cobbled streets. It doesn’t feel too big or overwhelming, but felt like the necessary jump from a tiny countryside village back home and there are definitely more opportunities and chances to make creative connections here.


In "Can't Go Back To London" - other than the fact that the love interest lived in London, why do you think the city can be associated with love so easily? What do you think makes people romanticize places like London and Paris? 

Easily because of all the British romantic comedies that have London as their setting - Notting Hill, About Time, Love Actually, Bridget Jones. In my specific situation, it was actually that me and my ex went on an anniversary trip there. I think also lots of my friends have done trips to London with their partners, as it’s quite a romantic place to go for a getaway.  And with social media, so many relationships are shared to be perfect in photos and aesthetics but we only see false images of love. I suppose romanticising somewhere is cute until you see that the relationship itself is empty behind close doors.


Before the anniversary trip, had you visited or lived in London before? If so, at what point did you realize that it's often over-romanticized in the media and people's minds? 

My home is under an hour from London on the train. I used to visit every summer when I was a kid to watch musicals and have cute day trips. Now I go if there is a reason to - gigs or celebrations. I can imagine it would feel very intense if I moved there, agreed there’s something for everyone but it’s also a massive city and I can see how it would feel too overwhelming for me. I suppose London is too big for me to generalise whether it is or isn’t over-romanticised, but in terms of my experience of day trips to London, they can be exhausting when there’s loads of walking and cramming in plans. If you are only there for a day, that’s too much pressure to do everything, in the same way that we shouldn’t put pressure on love to be everything all at once.



You have a music video for "Can't Go Back To London" coming out on November 17th! What were your favorite scenes from it to film?  What parts are you most excited for us to see? 

The music video was a lot of fun to film! Me and my best friend went around London with a digital camera filming all the places where I wanted to create new memories, it was a very healing and therapeutic experience and I can’t wait for people to see how the vlog-like style of the video has turned out!


What's the biggest thing you hope listeners take away from "Can't Go Back To London," both the song and music video when it comes out? 

I’d like listeners to find a bit of comfort in that duality of heartbreak and beauty - break ups can be both soul-crushing and soul-comforting to know you’re not alone. I would like listeners to relate and feel less alone if they’ve ever felt let down by something not being as magical as the imagined in their head. It’s okay to mourn a love that didn’t exist.


What's your favorite song to perform live and why?

I don’t want to say too much, but there is an unreleased song in which I love channelling my female rage…


Tell us one of your favourite lyrics from ‘It’s Always Been You’ and ‘Can’t Go Back to London’ and walk us through the process of you writing it! How did you personally connect to this line?

"It’s Always Been You":

Probably the rhyme of “I think that I’m falling in love” with “I think that I’ll do the above." I just think it’s so playful and encapsulates the idea of the song being like a love letter. Also, we all know that the realisation of falling in love is the best bit, it’s so vulnerable and so personal, and once you have admitted it to yourself, it turns the scary into something exciting.


"Can’t Go Back to London":

There are so many favourites! I quite like that the opening line is a nod to the opening line of It’s Always Been You. “It’s the way that you hold my hand” ("It's Always Been You") vs. “holding hands like we are supposed to” ("Can't Go Back To London") shows how that tiny little thing of physical intimacy, that once was so electric, has now become performative and two people are both just playing a part in an empty relationship. Is it bad if I choose another favourite? “Sight-seeing in silence” is quite a harrowing image and the big ouch moment of “I lost you long before you left me at the station”… yeah I really like that line.


Erin's vocals and writing carry a certain authenticity. This highly innovative artist pours her heart out into cinematic, yet relatable masterpieces. At least for us, "It's Always Been You" and "Can't Go Back To London" are stuck on repeat, and we think that she has a bright future ahead of her. If you're trying to dive deeper into her catalogue, we've curated the perfect playlist for you to get started.






Related Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page